I Don’t Listen to My Voicemail

Something disturbing has been happening to me over the past few weeks: Constant Voicemail Messages.

I can’t explain it, but voicemail is one of those things I hate. I mean, it’s not that checking my voicemail takes up a lot of my time. If the message left is only 15 seconds long, it would technically take me 45 seconds tops to check the voicemail. But I hate doing it. Dialing the voicemail, entering my password, listening to the message—it literally drives me crazy. It’s one of those things that I can’t stand doing but don’t require a lot of work on my part, right up there with going to the dentist or getting my car serviced.

Usually, my hatred of voicemail doesn’t blossom into much of a problem. Most of my family and friends know by now not to leave me one. And really, the only voicemails I listen to immediately are ones that are from important people or things, like work. And that’s about it. Not that my family and friends aren’t important—I just don’t have a problem calling them back without first knowing what was in the voicemail.

But what’s really been bothering me lately is the amount of voicemails I have received. It seems that every time I finally clear my voicemail box and get rid of that annoying as hell voicemail sign at the top of my phone screen, another one makes it way to the same position within the day. I can’t stand it! Right now, I have one sitting unchecked (of course) and I’m pretty sure it’s from the delivery guy who brought me my food on Friday night. I mean, come on—what are my motives to check that voicemail. NONE. Absolutely none.

I do enjoy getting voicemails from really really loved ones, like my family or boyfriend. Rahul usually leaves me nice voicemails whenever I am flying somewhere, which I really like. But other than that, send me a text. I’ll check that within the minute. I can’t explain why I prefer this method. Who knows, maybe it’s a symptom of my “generation.”

At a liquor store in Cleveland Park. We didn't taste this one, but it made me laugh.

Homemade guacamole, yuuuum.

In other news, had a great time catching up with my friend Mary Beth yesterday. We hit up some wine-tastings before making homemade guacamole and chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting. I told her I learn so many things every time I go to her apartment, like what a

Kitchen Aid mixer, SO HELPFUL. Making cupcakes.

Kitchen Aid mixer is, and a food processor, and how awesome having your own kitchen is. The cupcakes turned out DELICIOUS, and the added plus was getting lots of time to hang out, which we hadn’t done in a while. Sometimes it’s nice to see people you’ve known for a really long time and just spend a few hours together! Plus, also nice to be in a real kitchen for a little while. And to hang out with her super adorable cat.

The spread (minus fondue).

She then made fondue for us and a few others, which I sadly did not get a picture of, but was delicious. The night ended with a game of Scategories, which was also new to me, but I quickly learned I’m awesome at. I still believe that Kinect counts as something K that would be found in a gym or health center, no matter what anyone else says.

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Listen to My Voicemail

  1. For some reason I am deathly afraid of listening to my voicemail. Every time I get one I just delete it. It’s really sad, I know. I’m not sure why I do it. My family and friends know that they need to text me.

  2. Pingback: It’s my birthday! « pinkbriefcase

Leave a Reply

