The Bathroom Factor

So I’ve decided to start this new thing where I go to a different coffee shop every Tuesday to read and do homework. I figure this is a good idea because 1. I love coffee. 2. I love coffee shops. 3. I live near D.C., and also other fun areas, so there’s like a crap ton of coffee shops to choose from. 4. I have nothing else to do on my Tuesday than watch Law & Order SVU on TV. So at least this gets me out of my house and exploring.

Yum.

Baked & Wired

Last week I went to Ebenezer’s, near Union Station, a coffee shop I’m familiar with from when I lived in D.C. in undergrad. Today I’m at Baked & Wired, near Georgetown, a coffee shop recommended to me by my friend Mary Beth(you can follow her at pinkbriefcase.wordpress.com). So far I’m enjoying it, even though I’ve only been here for about ten minutes. But I’m posted up on a little stool with my Fiction Writing homework, books, and a large coffee and strawberry chocolate cupcake I got for around $6. Happy camper.

Here’s my issue with coffee shops though, especially when you come by yourself—what do you do when you have to use the bathroom? I’m serious. I raise this question because I usually always have my phone, iPod, and computer on me, as well as wallet and keys. I mean I want to believe in the greater good of mankind, and I generally do, but if my computer with four years of my life stored on it gets stolen, I will be pissed.

Thus leading me back to the bathroom element. Last Tuesday I was so overwhelmed by the fact that I wouldn’t know how to go to the bathroom successfully in a coffee shop with several exits that I started to believe I had to use the bathroom, even though I really didn’t. I know this makes me sound like a crazy person, but there’s a nugget of truth in here. Reading and studying at a coffee shop with a great atmosphere seems like the perfect scenario until you throw a twist into it that scatters everything around and changes the dynamic. I know there’s some kind of math or literary (or both) term for this, but I don’t know if it matters so much. What matters is what do you do when you need to use the bathroom?

I think this raises concerns on a larger level, like the inability to trust people anymore. How am I to know the person sitting beside me, who can clearly tell I came here by myself, would say anything if someone grabbed my stuff and ran? I know we all want to say we trust each other, but there’s always those few people that alter the dynamic.

Regardless, I’m still going to continue coffee-shopping it up for the near future and believe the best in people. If if I think I need to use the bathroom, I’ll just think of deserts and other dry places until the urge passes.

On a kind of related note, I know the whole “coffee shop” thing has been turned into a cliché over and over. There’s a constant pressure to find the most eclectic coffee shop, or be the first one to “discover” it

A fun wall near me inside Baked & Wired. Notice the painting.

and reveal its awesomeness to the rest of the world. I’m always happy with Panera and Starbucks, but as long as I’m near a plethora of coffee shops to pick and choose from, well, I might as well pick and choose.

So if anyone in the D.C. area is looking for a good coffee shop, check out Baked & Wired. It was pretty delicious, played awesome music, and I didn’t get that crowdy feeling I get at some coffee shops.

B&W has a nice pink theme going on. I approve!

2 thoughts on “The Bathroom Factor

  1. Yay I’m famous! I’m glad you liked it. I have this bathroom problem all the time. I usually sit for a moment wondering what to do, and then end up leaving my big heavy casebooks to hold my seat while I take my computer into the bathroom with me. It is totally awkward. And then, I’m always afraid that with so many lawyers/law students in the area, they will know that that huge heavy ugly book cost me $215 and steal it even thought it is full of boring nonsense.

Leave a Reply

