I ♥ Sophia Grace

So I just found the Sophia Grace videos on Youtube for the first time and I have to say, I love that little singing girl. Not only is she a badass singer, but she wears a princess costume every time and owns it. She has also revitalized my interest in Nicki Minaj’s “Super Bass” and I would sooner watch Sophia’s version than Nicki’s video.

What I wanted to write on, though, was Sophia Grace getting to meet Nicki Minaj on “The Ellen Show.” I love when things like this happen on talk shows, and I don’t even watch talk shows. I’m more interested in the stories of people like Sophia Grace than I usually am of celebrities, especially when it’s Tom-Cruise-jumping-on-Oprah’s-couch comparable. I mean give me a break.

That’s why I’m totally in love with the moment when Sophia Grace realizes she’s about to meet Nicki Minaj—so many emotions cross that little girl’s face in less than five seconds and the best thing about them is that they are raw emotions. She’s not afraid to essentially freak out, scream, and jump on Nicki Minaj to give her a hug. Essentially, she’s not afraid to just be and display what she’s actually thinking, instead of remaining contained in the risk of losing face or embarrassing herself. And that’s the great thing about children—up until a certain age, they’re not afraid to show what they’re really thinking or wanting because they don’t know any different. I guess you could say that in some cases, this could be annoying, like maybe if a kid wants to beg for a snack all the time because they don’t any better but, I would argue that most of the time when this true emotion happens, it’s completely wonderful.

If you haven’t seen the moment on “The Ellen Show,” watch here. It will definitely brighten your day.

Leave a Reply

