25 Things that Amuse Me about the Entertainment Industry

One of my friends told me my last post was kind of depressing. So in an effort to make January more exciting, I’m listing 25 random things I wonder or think about when it comes to the entertainment sphere—you know, since it’s supposed to be a representation of “reality.” You might find that you’ve pondered some of the same things. You might also find that you definitely have not. Don’t worry. Like Loreali Gilmore, my brain can be a wild jungle sometimes and this is just a sampling of the things that go through my mind daily.

1. I don’t find it believable that NO ONE says goodbye when they talk on the phone on TV shows/movies.

2. Are they really drinking wine/beer/liquor on TV shows/movies, or is it something else? I’ve been watching a lot of “Friends” lately, and they drink a crap load of wine, so this question has been forefront in my concerns as of late.

My sister, mom, and I with a "Law & Order" tunnel in Central Park. I later saw an episode where they legitimately filmed in this very spot.

3. Christopher Meloni, pleeeeaaassseee come back to Law & Order: SVU. PLEASE. You AND your crazy large forehead.

4. Why does everyone use phrases that are never used in real life? If I ever use the phrase “Now if you’ll excuse me” in a conversation, I’ll be shocked.

5. Did anyone else throw their copy of HP6 and then apologize to the book for throwing it when Dumbledore died? Or was that just me….

6. I want a complete list of all the different ways Facebook has been referred to on TV shows/movies without actually having to say Facebook. My favorite: Facespace.

7. Do show pets have owners in real life like actors have real families?

8. Who the HELL 1) came up with the idea of radio talk show hosts on pop/current music radio stations and 2) thought it was a good idea to let them talk in the morning instead of just playing some good ol’ tunes? I haven’t had to drive to work early in the morning in a while, but I guarantee you I can find a truckload of people who agree with me when I say “It’s 6 am. Just give me some freakin’ music, please.”

9. To continue with radio talk show hosts (I HATE THEM), do they listen to the things they say? In the car yesterday, I heard these gems within 30 minutes of each other: “Adele has a big butt,” “Rihanna doesn’t like to wear pants,” and “And no, no depressants were used when writing this song (in reference to “Good Feeling” by Flo Rida). Not even Paxil.” WTF!?!

10. Do they film car crash scenes more than once?

11. I don’t find the amount of cheese sandwiches consumed or coffee drank in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo relevant to the plot.

12. Did Steve Carrell learn to play the guitar for Dan in Real Life or is it a previously acquired skill?

13. I miss The Hills. Sooo much better than Jersey Shore.

14. Pretty soon, Apple will somehow have landed product placement in every single TV show and move in existence. Don’t even get Rahul started on the Apple product placement in Mission Impossible 4. Now I have to see if my dad’s iPad will create a fake wall like the one in the movie did.

15. If Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga had a child, what would it look like?

16. Is it soooo hard to find someone to play Bruce Banner/The Hulk in more than one movie?

17. Is it really necessary to remix Adele’s “Someone Like You?” Can we just not listen to a slow song without an annoying beat in the background?

18. NO ONE KNOWS HOW TO DRIVE IN MOVIES. If I drove moving my hands so much on the steering wheel like actors do, I WOULD DIE. Recent best example: Taylor Lautner in Abduction.

19. Let’s continue talking about Taylor Lautner. In his last movie, every time he cried it looked like he just had bad allergies (give Rahul credit for this). How long is he going to get by on just being pretty?

20. Pitbull rhymes “Kodak” with “Kodak” in “Give Me Everything.” Yeah, that happened. I still run to the song, though.

21. The movie version of HP1 is painful to watch now. Plus, they took out the best line: “HAVE YOU GONE MAD? ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT?” Yeah, I’m still bitter about it, even though the movie came out when I was in 9th grade.

Me "jumping" over the very same spot Ben Gates does in Independence Hall.

22. Why do all radio stations go on commercial at the same time?

23. Why was The Return of the Jedi so much better in my mind than The Empire Strikes Back? So far, no one I’ve talked to about this agrees with me.

24. Yeah, please. I’m not buying it that that’s what so-in-so character’s cell phone screen actually looks like it. I never received a picture message on a flip phone that took up the whole screen.

25. National Treasure is one of the best movies of all time. Period.

6 thoughts on “25 Things that Amuse Me about the Entertainment Industry

  1. I don’t know if Return of the Jedi is so much better than the Empire Strikes Back but it is the best. I mean how can you beat the ewoks!

  2. What was the name of the episode of L&O that was filmed in front of the tunnel? My husband and I were there when we were filming and we have been unable to figure it out. If you don’t know the episode name do you have any descriptive details? Funny Blog btw…Thank you

Leave a Reply

