What I’ve Done This Semester So Far

School’s been in session for almost three weeks and it feels like an entire semester has already passed. It’s amazing how the whirl of a semester starting can trick you into thinking you’ve already had to do a mountain of school work when, really, it’s only been baby steps.

I’m excited for this semester because I’m taking less classes and I’m now working as the Interfraternity Council graduate assistant—instead of Homecoming & Greek Week Advisor—in addition to serving as a House Mom. I’m looking forward to the challenges IFC will provide, and also SO stoked for the extra time I’ll have from only taking two classes.

Seriously, you have no idea. SO EXCITED.

Also, I’m trying to make this the year of getting A LOT OF SHIT DONE. I feel like the sudden change in schedule and time commitment when I moved to Maryland was very sudden and different and, instead of establishing a comfortable schedule for myself, I just floundered around a lot, working toward getting all my shit done and not working toward getting everything done in the efficient, time-conscious manner that I wanted. I never had this problem in Cape, and I had FOUR JOBS at one point.

But I also realized the reason I never had a problem then was because I had little to no time to mess around. I would often times have only one day to get all my work done and that was it: no ifs, ands, or buts about it. And even though I like having more free time now, it also can be a disadvantage because I often times end up spending hours playing stupid games or watching TV than actually getting anything done.

So far this semester I’ve been getting up early, working out, then GETTING MY SHIT DONE. It’s been working well so far, so let’s hope it keeps going that way.

What I’ve Done this Semester So Far:

  • Read two books (Falling Man by Don DeLillo for the 2nd time, Beyond Katrina: A Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf Coast by Natasha Tretheway)
  • Went to see Natasha Tretheway, the current Poet Laureate, speak at the Library of Congress. Also, I got to meet her and get my books signed AND didn’t make a fool of myself. SUCCESS!
  • Attended around ten annual meetings for the fraternities in my university’s council. The purpose of the meetings are to receives updates on the status of each chapter over the past year and work toward continuous improvements. They’ve also been great so now my knowledge of the chapter is  no longer just “Wait, who?”
  • Argued with Sears when they tried to sell me new tires and tell me a million other things are wrong with my car.
  • Written one half-decent story for workshop. Fingers crossed!
  • Been called Lauren by a member of the IFC I’m advising. Clearly he didn’t see my full name in the email address I wrote him from….
  • Met Testudo with a few of my friends/coworkers and took this excellent photo:

Testudo!

  • Bought my first ever wedding gifts and baby shower gifts for friends and family. I feel very grown up now.
  • Met the new guys living in my house and also became an official member of PSK athletics! Just kidding, I only have the jersey.
  • Watched most of the first season of “The Newsroom” and felt way smarter because of it.
  • Bought many things on Etsy.
  • Ran MANY, much miles, especially now that the weather is cooling. Thanks to my friend Rachel, who keeps my spirits up when running and makes a hill not seem so bad; we even ran 8 MILES yesterday and that’s CRAZY but also awesome and made me feel super motivated for future work-outs.
  • Drank a lot of Starbucks and coffee in general.
  • Spent a lot of time on Dogshaming and also sent many, many photos of cute dogs to Rahul.
  • Ate these fried oreos:

Sorry about my finger…I was just really excited to eat them!

Overall, it’s been a good first three weeks. Here’s hoping for many more successful ones.

Leave a Reply

