Imagine Christmas Wishes Shooting Out of Your Eyes

My little Christmas tree.

My little Christmas tree.

The holiday season has been here since Thanksgiving (for some even since Halloween), yet I’ve felt that Christmas spirit a little less than recent years. It’s not because of anything outrageous. It’s just 1) hard to get into the Christmas spirit when your entire family lives elsewhere and 2) when you live in D.C. Even though D.C. provides a plethora of holiday-related activities, it’s also a city of dislocated residents, as many DCers are not originally from this area.
I’m aware that I don’t technically count as a DCer, but I’m close enough.

I’ve been looking for something to get me in that Christmas spirit. I have my little Christmas tree, my Christmas music, and the guys put a full size tree in the living room. I have had Tracy Jordan’s “It’s a Jordan Christmas” stuck in my head many times since December 1. Yesterday I made Christmas cookies. But I finally found my holiday spirit in the most wonderful of ways: Zoolights at the D.C. zoo.

The National Zoo keeps its doors open late and lights the place up with thousands of lights. Growing up, my family drove around looking at the Christmas lights in the area listening to our favorite Christmas songs, so this was a perfect holiday treat. Plus, a few of the exhibits stay open late too, except all the animals seemed to show us their rear-end side. Do you think they know we’re looking at them?

Regardless, the Zoolights were beautiful and a fun time spent with friends. I hope you’re all finding your own ways as well to get in that Christmas spirit. Only 8 more days, y’all!

Falling icicles, the trees looked like they were crying!

Falling icicles, the trees looked like they were crying!

A little train!

A little train!

I like the panda on the left.

I like the panda on the left.

A DANCING PANDA IN A SNOW GLOBE!

A DANCING PANDA IN A SNOW GLOBE!

The Elephant House

The Elephant House! Except we saw no real elephants. 

Little monkey holding his tail. Not as cute as the snuggling mama-baby gorillas we saw later, but unfortunately could not get a good picture of them!

Little monkey holding his tail. Not as cute as the snuggling mama-baby gorillas we saw later, but unfortunately could not get a good picture of them!

Pretty pretty

Pretty pretty

Merry Go Round!

Merry Go Round!

She was a very thoughtful alpaca.

She was a very thoughtful alpaca.

A dancing octopus!

A dancing octopus!

One thought on “Imagine Christmas Wishes Shooting Out of Your Eyes

Leave a Reply

