#lastminutenycadventure

I love living near D.C. In fact, when I found out I was going to be going to school right outside of D.C., I told people I was moving to D.C. instead of Maryland because 1) it’s more recognizable and 2) just sounds more awesome. Many great things come along with living in the nation’s capitol–free museums, pandas, good coffee shops, mostly clean public transportation, a beautiful national mall, and great restaurants. And more.

Another great thing about D.C. is how close it is to other large cities. I grew up less than three hours from both Memphis and Nashville, which was great. But when you’re less than an hour from Baltimore, less than three from Philly, and less than four from New York City (!!!)–that’s pretty awesome.

So it was while a couple of my girlfriends and I were taking advantage of our proximity to Baltimore–Orioles game–that we decided to take advantage of our closeness to NYC as well. We were driving home from the game when someone joked, “What if I started driving to New York instead?” Then it came out that Anna had never been to NYC, Rachel looked up bus tickets, and bam! In less than an hour, we had our last minute NYC adventure planned for the day after next.

I’m sure for many people that have lived near NYC for a longer period of time might not find a NYC day-trip super exciting or special. But when you grow up in Tennessee, where everything outside the state feels miles and miles away, getting to bus up, be touristy in the “Center of the Universe”, and bus back all in one day is pretty awesome.

Throughout the day, Anna, Rachel, and I made liberal use of instagram, using the hashtag Anna created–#lastminutenycadventure–to tag our photos. Let me take you through our day!

The day started with an early morning Bolt Bus, where I enjoyed snacks, a good book, and a free outlet!

The day started with an early morning Bolt Bus, where I enjoyed snacks, a good book, and a free outlet!

The bus dropped us off near Madison Square Garden, so we wondered to Times Square first thing.

The bus dropped us off near Madison Square Garden, so we wondered to Times Square first thing.

A stroll through Central Park came next, which was followed by...

A stroll through Central Park came next, which was followed by…

FAO Schwarz and the Big Piano! Where's Tom Hanks?

FAO Schwarz and the Big Piano! Where’s Tom Hanks?

Next we stopped for a delicious treat at Magnolia Bakery, after brushing elbows with Tina Fey at Rockefeller Center.

Next we stopped for a delicious treat at Magnolia Bakery, after brushing elbows with Tina Fey at the Rockefeller Center.

Then we decided a trip to Macy's was in order, which took us by the New York City Public Library and Bryant Park, which I especially liked.

Then we decided a trip to Macy’s was in order, which took us by the New York City Public Library and Bryant Park, which I especially liked.

Then in Chelsea, I took what was probably my thousandth picture of the Empire State Building. I am slightly obsessed.

Then in Chelsea, I took what was probably my thousandth picture of the Empire State Building. I am slightly obsessed.

We then made a stop at The City Quilter, where Anna bought some beautiful fabrics for her quilting! And I found this fabric, perfect for my sister who loves cats.

We then made a stop at The City Quilter, where Anna bought some beautiful fabrics for her quilting! And I found this fabric, perfect for my sister who loves cats.

A stop at a great coffee shop came next--Rachel made good use of  Yelp--before the final sighing of the day, and perhaps my favorite: THE NAKED FREAKIN COWBOY!

A stop at a great coffee shop came next–Rachel made good use of Yelp–before the final sighting of the day, and perhaps my favorite: THE NAKED FREAKIN COWBOY!

Hopefully you can make your own adventure to NYC soon. It’s worth it! Plus, a day is the perfect dose of the city without getting overwhelmed or tired of the street smell. Also, you don’t really have to use the subway. As my mom said when I told her our plans, “You’re not going to get on the subway, are you?” Walking got us everywhere we needed to go!

One thought on “#lastminutenycadventure

  1. I grew up in NJ but did not see Times Square until a few years ago. I still get excited when I go! Glad you enjoyed yourself!

Leave a Reply

