Life’s Random Moments

For a long, long time, I’ve been amazed at how seemingly random life can be while also fitting together like a puzzle. What do I mean by this? Some examples: you randomly recall a scene from a movie you haven’t seen in a while, only to find it on TV later that day. A friend you haven’t spoken to in a few months pops into your mind, only to be followed by a text message or email from them soon after. While cleaning the apartment, you stumble upon a folder of random documents, only to realize you need one of the next day. See what I mean?

So yesterday when I filled my ice trays because I knew I would be making a smoothie this morning, I didn’t think anything other than “I like ice in my smoothies.” This morning, I made a banana blueberry smoothie (which was DELICIOUS, I loosely followed this recipe) and went on to my merry way to work. I was running late, of course (if you’ve been reading, you know this is a CHRONIC problem of mine), so when I parked I had just the right amount of time to get to my class.
Side note here: For the past few months, I’ve been parking at my old boss’s house near the campus. It’s free street parking, and it’s only a 10-minute walk through the woods to my classroom.
I quickly walked through the neighborhood to get to the trail through the woods. On the downhill slope to the trail, I slipped once on the pavement–for some reason, my favorite boots are very slippy when on pavement. Good combo, right? I caught myself and was just thinking “thank God I caught myself” when BOOM, I slipped again and I found myself, suddenly, on the ground.

Now, last time I fell like this, I was running through Rock Creek Park, and I had a moment of “what the hell is going on here?” This time, all I felt was pain. My left leg was screaming out in pain and I sat there for a few moments, holding my knee, simultaneously urging the pain to subside while also thinking “my class starts in 7 minutes.” Even though it hurt to move, I picked myself back up, drove to class paid for parking (there was no way I was gonna make it through the woods on my left leg) and taught my two classes.

I know. I’m a champ.

In reality, I taught my classes, but my brain was fuzzy. The immediate pain was so sharp, I thought I was going to throw up. I’ve never had a serious sports injury, so I had really no idea what to do. In class, I was in pain and distracted, and struggled remembering the names of my students. One of them gave me an ice pack, which was incredibly nice, and another offered to help me walk to the health center. So, even though I was having a real off day, they seemed to look past that and amaze me with their kindness.

Flash forward to the health center (after my awesome friend, Steve, met me at my class to drive me to the health center), where I realized in the waiting room the TRUE IRONY of the fact that I had just filled my ice trays the night before I sustained an injury that is best healed with compression, elevation, and ICE. I literally never have ice in my trays. Granted, I have frozen veggies, which work just the same, but I found myself laughing, thinking about this. Again, it’s life taking a bunch of random moments and showing how they all fit together in one, neat puzzle.
Most of the time.

I’m hoping the ankle (which is sprained) will heal soon-ish because I just started training for the Cherry Blossom 10Miler and I’m only 15 days into my 30 Days of yoga. : ( I always have a hard time not getting back on my feet when I hurt myself in any way, but Rahul is great about reminding me to care for my body now, instead of paying for it later (in the form of worse injuries).

SPEAKING OF RAHUL, today is our six-month engagement anniversary!!!! I can’t believe it has been six months! We’ve enjoyed the early stages, which were mostly filled with relaxation and enjoyment, but the next 6 months will definitely be more wedding-focused! We have our caterer, so another step down! I’m so looking forward to our slowly approaching wedding, and to marry Rahul, who puts up with everything from wedding freak-outs to ankle injury whining. He seriously is the best person ever.

Leave a Reply

