“I Can’t Stop Drinking the Coffee”: Exploring DC’s Coffee Scene

School’s out for the summer which, on one hand, is great. I don’t have oodles of papers to grade, I don’t have to worry about lesson planning, and I have more time to do literally everything. I can take as long as I want to clean my apartment, I can dawdle when I’m in the grocery store, I can lay out at my apartment pool and listen to the Undisclosed podcast (obsessed) and read FOR FUN. In the weeks since school finished, I’ve cleaned and organized my apartment, which resulted in bags of clothes that need to be donated, a crap-ton of old beauty products in the trash, and organized storage spaces. I’ve written some, even though I’m in a bit of a creative rut right now. I’ve started a new book, Everything I Never Told You, and then started to worry when I realized that the book I’m reading, the podcast I’m listening to, and one of the TV shows I’m watching with Rahul (“Broadchurch”) all revolve around children going missing and then later showing up dead. Strange obsession? Anyway.
Side note: I’ve since finished the book and the show’s first season and both are FANTASTIC. 

I look forward to this free time, because it means my time is my own, and I know many working professionals don’t get the same luxury of SUMMERS OFF that teachers do. However, instead of taking full advantage of this free time, something strange happens: I get on a weird sleep schedule where the only reason I finally get up is because I literally can’t sleep anymore, I dilly-dally around my apartment and on the internet, reading about things that I LITERALLY DON’T CARE ABOUT (I’ve finally reached a point where I’m actually annoyed with Buzzfeed, as opposed to last year when I couldn’t get enough, I’m becoming an adult!), before finally becoming productive in the mid-afternoon. In short, I waste my time.

When I first moved to Maryland to get my MFA, I would venture in D.C. every week to try out a different coffee shop and explore the city a bit more. Coffee + writing time+ DC=three of my favorite things! Now, almost 4 years later, I’m decently familiar with the city, but I stopped the coffee shop traditions and my writing has slowed to a trickle as opposed to the river it was before (BAD METAPHOR, I KNOW). So, I decided to change that.

_____________________________________________________________

IMG_2518For the next however-many-weeks-it-takes-me, I will make my way down the D.C. Eater’s List of 25 Essential D.C. Coffee Shops. Doing so will solve a few problems with one stone—I’ll get out of my apartment at a normal-human hour, get some work done, and get to try different coffee and snacks all over the city. After each visit, I’ll review the coffee shops here. I know, I know, don’t get too excited.

Follow along if you’re interested in coffee and live in and/or will be visiting the D.C. area. Each week, I will review one or two of the places, commenting on the drink/food options, atmosphere, and other applicable things—like whether or not they spell my name correctly on the drinks, what ridiculous thing on the internet I distract myself with while writing, whether or not you need a jacket inside, and more. My goal is to provide feedback on things that Yelp doesn’t tell you.

Also, I’ll give each place a latte grade. I’m pretty simple when it comes to my coffee, and often find myself ordering lattes when I go out for coffee. At the end, I’d like to be able to look back and know which places I’ll go to for a second, or third time, based on beverage appeal.

If you’re a new reader, a few things you should know about me: I love coffee, as about half of the world does. My day always starts off with coffee. Furthermore, I worked in a few coffee shops in college and consider myself knowledgeable when it comes to making a decent cup of coffee, as well as a good latte, cappuccino, mocha, you name it. While I may not be as knowledgable on some of the “cool” coffee stuff–I didn’t know what a pour-over was until I moved to the DC area–I consider myself pretty capable of distinguishing good coffee from bad, as well as a good coffee shop from a bad one.

Disclaimer: I am doing this solely because I love coffee shops, DC, and writing. Wordifications is not affiliated in any way with any of the coffee shops I will visit. Furthermore, I will follow the order of coffee shops listed in the DC Eater’s article. 

 

5 thoughts on ““I Can’t Stop Drinking the Coffee”: Exploring DC’s Coffee Scene

  1. Pingback: Tryst | wordifications

  2. Pingback: Soho Tea & Coffee | wordifications

  3. Pingback: Qualia Coffee (and some other things) | wordifications

Leave a Reply

