“Oh, I can’t stop drinking the coffee. I stop drinking the coffee, I stop doing the standing and walking and the words putting-into-sentence doing.”

If you haven’t seen the news in the past week (the entertainment news, not the real stuff), the greatest thing ever happened: Netflix announced that “Gilmore Girls” will be joining its ranks on October 1.
Excuse me for a moment while I scream in excitement.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, I’m back. Like any diehard fan, I have the entire series on DVD. I even replaced my season 1 DVD when it was too scratched to play anymore. Yes, ladies and gents, that’s how serious I am about this show. I’ve been known to read articles like this, hoping I’ll learn something new about the show, only to realize that I KNOW IT ALL. I found GG right after its 1st season and quickly convinced my mom and sister to watch it with me. That soon became our Tuesday night tradition, and we never missed an episode. If we had to, I made sure to videotape because oh, THAT’S RIGHT, this was pre-Hulu time. That’s how serious I was (and still am) about this show, guys. Even when it was going down the shitter in the 7th season, I stuck through to the end, because that’s what a true fan does.

That being said, I’m glad to see Netflix FINALLY realized GG needed to be streamed for the masses. Plus, it will make binge-watching that much easier.

Okay, now that I’m done labeling myself as the greatest “Gilmore Girls” fan of all time (and I know I’m not the only one to claim this), I’ll leave you with some of my favorite GIFs from the show. I know Buzzfeed has been ALLLL over this, as seen on Facebook, but I have been on a Buzzfeed break since returning from Paris. I had a major Buzzfeed addiction, and the separation was the best idea for me, health-wise and time-wise and just general ridding myself of unnecessary information-wise.

These perfectly describe most of my days:

Oh, and these too:

GG has so many moments that perfectly describe life and for a very, very long time I referenced this show in my daily life in an Abed Nadir-unhealthy way. But when you’ve had a sucky day, GG is always there. When you want to laugh or cry, GG is there. When you’re upset about the current state of something, your fiancé knows that GG will be the perfect remedy and will watch it with you (which he has been known to do!). When you need a witty comment or cultural reference, GG is there. When you want to make yourself feel better about how much coffee you are drinking, GG is there. Oh, GG is DEFINITELY there.

I can’t praise this show enough. It’s the the most comforting show in the best way. Beyond that, it’s one of the best-written shows (excluding the last season, of course) that’s ACTUALLY FUNNY and doesn’t make the typical wisecrack-laugh track jokes to please the masses. Plus, Lorelai Gilmore should be an inspiration to women everywhere, despite her bad choices when it came to men (marrying Chris? Give me a break) and her bad attitude toward Rory applying for Yale (I still can’t get over that). She’s strong, humorous, relatable, and one of the few TV characters that I don’t grow to dislike after watching a show over and over and over. Rory, on the other hand, is a different story.

If you hadn’t figured it out by now, this is still my favorite show of all time. And even after I started noticing some of the inaccuracies in the show as I got older, and realized how much of a spoiled brat Rory turns out to be (seriously, her transition from Jess-Rory to Logan-Rory is ridiculous, she completely forgets her upbringing), and screamed at my computer at other fans who love Dean (DEAN!? Are you kidding me? He was totes a jerk, at least Logan ATTEMPTED to be nice), and screamed at the TV when Lorelai and Luke not only break up but she also feels the need to sleep with Christopher for some reason, and laughed when noticing HOW MUCH BETTER the show is in season 1 than season 7, I’ll still stick by its side to the end. #GGforever

But really, watch season 7, suffer through the PAIN of how bad and poorly written that season is, and then immediately watch season 1. It’s laughable how much better the first season is.

GG GIF DUMP!

Oh, and this.

5 thoughts on ““Oh, I can’t stop drinking the coffee. I stop drinking the coffee, I stop doing the standing and walking and the words putting-into-sentence doing.”

    • just saw this, oops! It’s taken me years to understand all of the jokes, and there’s still many that go right over my head, which is why I love it so much! thanks for reading!

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Moments from the “Gilmore Girls” Reunion | wordifications

Leave a comment