10 Songs You Should Add to Your Running Playlist

So lately, I’ve been trying to become more consistent with my exercising again after becoming pretty much lapsed toward the end of the semester last fall and also just being a bum in general. One of my big problems in the Fall was adjusting to a new schedule that effectively included exercising as just another thing I needed to do that day, like homework, instead of viewing it as something to brush off for the next day. This was something I got really good at doing while living in Missouri, like really good. Part of it was due to finally becoming 100% comfortable living on my own and finding the joy in bike riding (it’s almost like a spiritual experience); the other part, one that really kicked into high gear last spring, was that I trained for and ran my first half-marathon.

Before my half. The race started on my undergrad campus, thus the picture with the bell tower (thanks, Dad!).

Now, that’s definitely not something that’s on my horizon for the foreseeable future, but integrating exercising into my daily schedule again is. Let me do say that right before I started writing this, I was eating out of the gigantic bucket of cheese balls a friend gave me but, regardless, I’ve still been doing good so far (as in the past two weeks) in making exercise part of my life again.

My favorite is running. It’s the best way to relieve stress, enjoy the weather, and work out the legs. There are definitely runs that make me hate my life but, usually, I find them to be the best parts of my day.

So, to encourage all you other runners or new exercisers out there, enjoy.

10 Songs You Should Add to Your Running Playlist:

Run, Forrest, Run! (Jackson Marathon & 1/2 Marathon)

1. “Party Rock Anthem” by LMFAO: I don’t care how old or overplayed this song is. Every time I hear this song, I think of the hamsters dancing in the KIA commercial and it motivates me to keep running, no matter how tired I am. It also motivates me to start shuffling, which I usually have to save for after the run. Let’s call that my cool down.

2. “Transformers Look at Me Now Dubstep” by Ember Waves: I don’t know if there’s really an official song title for this mix. But it takes a song I have a guilty pleasure for, Chris Brown’s “Look at Me Now,” and turns it into a badass song to run to. And just to listen to in general, as the fact that it also incorporates “Here’s Johnny” from The Shining and David after Dentist saying “Is this real life?” make for a good laugh. And if you like laughing, watch this literal paint version of “Look at Me Now.” Seriously. Do it now. You’ll thank me later.

3. “We Found Love” by Rihanna: If I have to convince you to run to this song, than you obviously haven’t listened to it yet. Also, any Rihanna song in general. “S&M,” “Hard,” “Only Girl (In the World),” “Disturbia,” and “You Da One” are excellent as well.

Spotted: My weapon-of-a-ponytail in the crowd of runners.

4. “Something Good Can Work (The Twelves Remix)” by Two Door Cinema Club: I’m so obsessed with this song lately. It’s kind of ridiculous. And worthy of the running playlist.

5. “Good Feeling” by Flo Rida: The random dupstep toward the end of the song is kind of a downer, but the rest of the song makes you want to kick up your feet. And also sing out loud.

6. “Wonderman” by Tinie Tempah: I don’t really know anything about this song other than that Rahul recommended it to me as a good running song. Oh, and that it’s AWESOME. Seriously. I run to this song nearly every time I run because it picks up in just the right times.

7. “Sleepyhead” by Passion Pit: I will always love this song. If you haven’t heard it yet, shame on you. It serves multiple purposes, by waking you up in the morning, energizing a long drive, or perking you up while running. And just for being badass in general.

Rachel and I after a 5 mile race this past October.

8. “Stereo Love” by Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina: I can’t describe it, but the first time I heard this song I knew I wanted it on my running playlist. You know, like when something other than yourself moves inside of you. Okay, so maybe not that romantic but still—follow your instincts. It has not let me down since.

9. “Sprawl II” by Arcade Fire: This is just an absolutely beautiful song to run to, especially outside on a really nice day. In the countryside. When the weather is PERFECT. Hint: the song reaches its amazing peak at 2:57. Almost makes you want to cry.

10. “Festival” by Sugar Ros: EXCELLENT song if you need to slow down for a few minutes during your run, as the first 4:38 of the song is slow, melodic, and relaxing. After 4:38, the beat literally makes you want to jump higher than the sky, especially if you’ve seen 127 Hours.

Runner Ups:

“Give Me Everything” by Pitbull: I love this song, not just because “Kodak” is rhymed with “Kodak,” but because it makes life fun. And speeds up your run.

“Hey Daddy” by Usher: Need I say more? Perfect running beat. I thank Rahul for introducing me to this one.

The entire Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack. Seriously, all of it. I jammed this soundtrack so many times when I picked up running again in 2009. Sometimes it was the only way I could convince myself to make it through. Of course, it probably also had something to do with the fact that I was running inside on a gross treadmill all the time. I’ve linked the first song on the soundtrack for you to check out.

Enjoy. This is just a sampling, as my running playlist reached 300 songs today (I’m all about the even numbers), but they’re some of the best, in my opinion. As the weather warms—I’m beginning to think we’re never getting a winter, it was 66 degrees here today—add these to your iPOD and rock out while enjoying a little run in the great outdoors.

4 thoughts on “10 Songs You Should Add to Your Running Playlist

  1. Pingback: Eating Whatever the Hell I Want: Cherry Blossom Ten Miler Recap |

Leave a comment